Our divisions


Responsible production and consumption division

In the aftermath of World War II, the aim of agriculture was to feed Europe and the world. Over the past 20 years, this objective has undergone profound changes given the negative impacts of very intensive farming generating awareness throughout society. An overwhelming majority of agri-food stakeholders (producers, cooperatives, processors and distributors) have integrated and share these societal expectations. They are often out of action when faced with the complexity of the issues to be dealt with: technical issues, low prices, globalised market, distortion of competition both at European or international level, received ideas, incoherence of consumer behaviour…

In order to ensure the shift towards a more sustainable agriculture and more responsible consumption generating added value, Transitions accompanies actors in the agri-food chains both on the elaboration and implementation of sustainable development strategies and on operational changing issues. We conceive and carry out our missions by taking the time to engage in a constructive and transparent dialogue with the various internal and external stakeholders to go beyond the actors’ games and by being present in the field, as close as possible to everyday problems.

The “responsible production and consumption” division also carries out preliminary studies or evaluations of international solidarity programmes linked to agriculture, security and food sovereignty at the international level, particularly in developing countries.


Engineering and responsible sourcing division

In our societies in transition, companies must undertake profound changes in their production and operating methods in order to optimise their social and environmental footprint. These necessary changes must be increasingly ambitious and reach the heart of their stakes.

Transitions’ engineering and responsible sourcing division assists private players in identifying priority issues, key risks or impacts, developing targeted strategies, designing innovative tools and solutions to achieve defined targets, as well as implementing and monitoring them over the long term.

Our teams have developed an internationally recognised expertise in responsible sourcing strategies. Our great knowledge of the issues at stake in the field enables us to position us on issues as various as deforestation, climate change, resource consumption, respect for local communities, working conditions, GMOs, etc.

Thus, through collaborative approaches with all direct and indirect stakeholders of the value   chain, we intervene at every step of the supplying process in order to reduce impacts and sustainably support the evolution of practices linked to the production of key commodities (and their derivatives): palm oil, soya, paper, coconut oil, fruit, natural rubber, guar gum, shea butter, cotton, mica, etc.


Energy transition of local territories division

Based on its strong experience of collaboration with public institutions and private operators, Transitions aims at promoting the conditions for bringing these two families closer together to serve the energy and social transition of territories in 4 sectors: energy and environment, urban planning, economic and financial models, public-private partnerships and innovation.

Thus, the missions of the “Energy transition of local territories” division are developing into two complementary and, if possible, converging directions:

Supporting territories according to the definition and implementation of their transition strategy, with a focus on the mobilisation of stakeholders (public and private).

Going deep into the territorial strategies of private actors, organising dialogue between stakeholders in order to elaborate and/or to optimise these strategies.

We work with different types of public actors: local and regional authorities (regions, groupings of communes and agglomerations, regional natural parks, etc.), state services, public bodies (including the French Environment and Energy Management agency). We also work with private bodies: energy operators, large service groups, professional organisations (consular chambers, inter-professional chambers, etc.).

The “Energy transition of local territories” division thus formulates offers dedicated to territories with a public and private component, develops projects in France and abroad and produces tools and methods that aim to facilitate and enhance collaboration between players: running networks, innovative consultation methods, tools to visualise progress made in the field.


Research and development division

Sustainable development issues are constantly evolving. To stay ahead and offer our clients and partners relevant and innovative proposals, we invest in research and development by partnering as much as possible with specialised research centres or universities. If we do not pretend to produce fundamentally new knowledge, we can, on the basis of the field practices that we observe, change our views on the stakes and on the most appropriate solutions to meet them. Our investigations are “action research” rather in the sense that our research activity is directly connected to the fields in which we work and aims to test “in situ” concepts, methods and practices. This action-research allows us to enrich the recommendations made to our clients, and to propose new approaches in order to accelerate ecology and solidarity transitions.

In the aftermath of World War II, the aim of agriculture was to feed Europe and the world. Over the past 20 years, this objective has undergone profound changes given the negative impacts of very intensive farming generating awareness throughout society. An overwhelming majority of agri-food stakeholders (producers, cooperatives, processors and distributors) have integrated and share these societal expectations. They are often out of action when faced with the complexity of the issues to be dealt with: technical issues, low prices, globalised market, distortion of competition both at European or international level, received ideas, incoherence of consumer behaviour…

In order to ensure the shift towards a more sustainable agriculture and more responsible consumption generating added value, Transitions accompanies actors in the agri-food chains both on the elaboration and implementation of sustainable development strategies and on operational changing issues. We conceive and carry out our missions by taking the time to engage in a constructive and transparent dialogue with the various internal and external stakeholders to go beyond the actors’ games and by being present in the field, as close as possible to everyday problems.

The “responsible production and consumption” division also carries out preliminary studies or evaluations of international solidarity programmes linked to agriculture, security and food sovereignty at the international level, particularly in developing countries.

In our societies in transition, companies must undertake profound changes in their production and operating methods in order to optimise their social and environmental footprint. These necessary changes must be increasingly ambitious and reach the heart of their stakes.

Transitions’ engineering and responsible sourcing division assists private players in identifying priority issues, key risks or impacts, developing targeted strategies, designing innovative tools and solutions to achieve defined targets, as well as implementing and monitoring them over the long term.

Our teams have developed an internationally recognised expertise in responsible sourcing strategies. Our great knowledge of the issues at stake in the field enables us to position us on issues as various as deforestation, climate change, resource consumption, respect for local communities, working conditions, GMOs, etc.

Thus, through collaborative approaches with all direct and indirect stakeholders of the value   chain, we intervene at every step of the supplying process in order to reduce impacts and sustainably support the evolution of practices linked to the production of key commodities (and their derivatives): palm oil, soya, paper, coconut oil, fruit, natural rubber, guar gum, shea butter, cotton, mica, etc.

Based on its strong experience of collaboration with public institutions and private operators, Transitions aims at promoting the conditions for bringing these two families closer together to serve the energy and social transition of territories in 4 sectors: energy and environment, urban planning, economic and financial models, public-private partnerships and innovation.

Thus, the missions of the “Energy transition of local territories” division are developing into two complementary and, if possible, converging directions:

Supporting territories according to the definition and implementation of their transition strategy, with a focus on the mobilisation of stakeholders (public and private).

Going deep into the territorial strategies of private actors, organising dialogue between stakeholders in order to elaborate and/or to optimise these strategies.

We work with different types of public actors: local and regional authorities (regions, groupings of communes and agglomerations, regional natural parks, etc.), state services, public bodies (including the French Environment and Energy Management agency). We also work with private bodies: energy operators, large service groups, professional organisations (consular chambers, inter-professional chambers, etc.).

The “Energy transition of local territories” division thus formulates offers dedicated to territories with a public and private component, develops projects in France and abroad and produces tools and methods that aim to facilitate and enhance collaboration between players: running networks, innovative consultation methods, tools to visualise progress made in the field.

Sustainable development issues are constantly evolving. To stay ahead and offer our clients and partners relevant and innovative proposals, we invest in research and development by partnering as much as possible with specialised research centres or universities. If we do not pretend to produce fundamentally new knowledge, we can, on the basis of the field practices that we observe, change our views on the stakes and on the most appropriate solutions to meet them. Our investigations are “action research” rather in the sense that our research activity is directly connected to the fields in which we work and aims to test “in situ” concepts, methods and practices. This action-research allows us to enrich the recommendations made to our clients, and to propose new approaches in order to accelerate ecology and solidarity transitions.

Nos Pôles


Pôle production et consommation durable

Au lendemain de la seconde guerre mondiale, l’objectif de l’agriculture était de nourrir l’Europe et le monde. Ces 20 dernières années, cet objectif a profondément évolué compte tenu des impacts négatifs d’une agriculture très intensive générant une prise de conscience dans toute la société. Une très grande majorité des acteurs de l’agroalimentaire – producteurs, coopératives, transformateurs et distributeurs – ont intégré et partagent ces attentes sociétales. Ils sont souvent désœuvrés face à la complexité des enjeux à traiter : impasses techniques, prix bas, marché mondialisé, distorsion de concurrence au niveau européen ou international, idées reçues, incohérence des comportements des consommateurs…
Pour assurer la mutation vers une agriculture plus durable et une consommation plus responsable, génératrice de valeurs ajoutées, Transitions accompagne des acteurs des filières agroalimentaires tant sur l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de stratégies de développement durable que sur des sujets de transformation opérationnelle. C’est en prenant le temps d’un dialogue constructif et transparent avec les différentes parties prenantes internes et externes pour dépasser les jeux d’acteurs et en allant sur le terrain au plus près des problématiques quotidiennes, que nous concevons et réalisons nos missions.
Le pôle « production et consommation responsable » mènent également des missions d’études préalables ou d’évaluation de programmes de solidarité internationale en lien avec l’agriculture, la sécurité et la souveraineté alimentaire à l’international, notamment dans les pays en développement.


Pôle ingénierie et approvisionnement responsable

Dans nos sociétés en transition, les entreprises se doivent d’engager des transformations profondes de leurs modes de production et modes de fonctionnement en vue d’optimiser leur empreinte sociale et environnementale. Ces transformations nécessaires doivent être de plus en plus ambitieuses et toucher le cœur de leurs enjeux.
Le pôle ingénierie et approvisionnement responsable de Transitions accompagne les acteurs privés dans l’identification des enjeux prioritaires, des risques ou impacts clés, dans l’élaboration de stratégies ciblées, dans la conception d’outils et de solutions innovantes en vue d’atteindre les objectifs définis, ainsi que dans leur mise en oeuvre et suivi sur le long terme.
Nos équipes ont développé une expertise reconnue à l’échelle internationale sur les stratégies d’approvisionnement responsable. Notre connaissance fine des enjeux sur le terrain nous permet de nous positionner sur des problématiques aussi diverses que la déforestation, les changements climatiques, la consommation des ressources, le respect des communautés locales, les conditions de travail, les OGM, etc.
Ainsi, au travers d’approches collaboratives avec l’ensemble des parties prenantes directes et indirectes de la chaine de valeur, nous intervenons à chaque étape du processus d’approvisionnement afin de réduire les impacts et d’accompagner durablement l’évolution des pratiques liés à la production de commodités clés (et leurs dérivés) : huile de palme, soja, papier, huile de coco, fruits, caoutchouc naturel, gomme de guar, beurre de karité, coton, mica, etc.


Pôle transition écologique des territoires

Fort de son expérience de collaboration avec des institutions publiques et opérateurs privés, Transitions cherche à favoriser les conditions d’un rapprochement entre ces deux familles au service de la transition écologique et sociale des territoires dans 4 secteurs : énergie et environnement, urbanisme, modèles économiques et financiers, innovation croisée.
Ainsi les missions du Pôle « Transition écologique des territoires » se développent dans deux directions complémentaires et si possible convergentes :
L’accompagnement des territoires dans la définition et la réalisation de leur stratégie de transition avec un focus sur la mobilisation des acteurs (publics et privés)
L’approfondissement des stratégies territoriales des acteurs privés, en organisant le dialogue entre parties prenantes pour élaborer et/ou optimiser ces stratégies.
Nous travaillons avec différents types d’acteurs publics – collectivités territoriales (Régions, communautés de communes et d’agglomération, PNR, etc.), services de l’Etat, organismes publics (notamment ADEME), etc. – ou privés – opérateurs énergétiques, grands groupes de services, organisations professionnelles (chambres consulaires, interprofessions, etc.).
Le Pôle « Transition écologique des territoires » formule ainsi des offres dédiées aux territoires avec un volet public et un volet privé, développe des projets en France et à l’international et produit des outils et méthodes visant à faciliter et valoriser les collaborations entre acteurs : animation de réseaux, modes de concertation innovants, instruments de visualisation des progrès réalisés sur le terrain.


Pôle recherche et développement

Les enjeux de développement durable évoluent constamment. Pour garder un temps d’avance et proposer à nos clients et partenaires des propositions pertinentes et innovantes, nous investissons en recherche et développement en nous associant autant que possible avec des centres de recherche spécialisés ou des universités. Si nous n’avons pas la prétention de produire des connaissances fondamentalement nouvelles, nous pouvons, à partir des pratiques de terrain que nous observons, faire évoluer les regards sur les enjeux et sur les pistes de solution les plus adaptés pour y répondre. Nos investigations relèvent plutôt de la « recherche action » au sens où notre activité de recherche est directement connectée aux terrains sur lesquels nous travaillons et vise à tester « in situ » des concepts, des méthodes et des pratiques. Cette recherche-action nous permet d’enrichir les recommandations formulées à nos clients, et de proposer de nouvelles approches pour accélérer les transitions écologiques et solidaires.

Au lendemain de la seconde guerre mondiale, l’objectif de l’agriculture était de nourrir l’Europe et le monde. Ces 20 dernières années, cet objectif a profondément évolué compte tenu des impacts négatifs d’une agriculture très intensive générant une prise de conscience dans toute la société. Une très grande majorité des acteurs de l’agroalimentaire – producteurs, coopératives, transformateurs et distributeurs – ont intégré et partagent ces attentes sociétales. Ils sont souvent désœuvrés face à la complexité des enjeux à traiter : impasses techniques, prix bas, marché mondialisé, distorsion de concurrence au niveau européen ou international, idées reçues, incohérence des comportements des consommateurs…
Pour assurer la mutation vers une agriculture plus durable et une consommation plus responsable, génératrice de valeurs ajoutées, Transitions accompagne des acteurs des filières agroalimentaires tant sur l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de stratégies de développement durable que sur des sujets de transformation opérationnelle. C’est en prenant le temps d’un dialogue constructif et transparent avec les différentes parties prenantes internes et externes pour dépasser les jeux d’acteurs et en allant sur le terrain au plus près des problématiques quotidiennes, que nous concevons et réalisons nos missions.
Le pôle « production et consommation responsable » mènent également des missions d’études préalables ou d’évaluation de programmes de solidarité internationale en lien avec l’agriculture, la sécurité et la souveraineté alimentaire à l’international, notamment dans les pays en développement.

Dans nos sociétés en transition, les entreprises se doivent d’engager des transformations profondes de leurs modes de production et modes de fonctionnement en vue d’optimiser leur empreinte sociale et environnementale. Ces transformations nécessaires doivent être de plus en plus ambitieuses et toucher le cœur de leurs enjeux.
Le pôle ingénierie et approvisionnement responsable de Transitions accompagne les acteurs privés dans l’identification des enjeux prioritaires, des risques ou impacts clés, dans l’élaboration de stratégies ciblées, dans la conception d’outils et de solutions innovantes en vue d’atteindre les objectifs définis, ainsi que dans leur mise en oeuvre et suivi sur le long terme.
Nos équipes ont développé une expertise reconnue à l’échelle internationale sur les stratégies d’approvisionnement responsable. Notre connaissance fine des enjeux sur le terrain nous permet de nous positionner sur des problématiques aussi diverses que la déforestation, les changements climatiques, la consommation des ressources, le respect des communautés locales, les conditions de travail, les OGM, etc.
Ainsi, au travers d’approches collaboratives avec l’ensemble des parties prenantes directes et indirectes de la chaine de valeur, nous intervenons à chaque étape du processus d’approvisionnement afin de réduire les impacts et d’accompagner durablement l’évolution des pratiques liés à la production de commodités clés (et leurs dérivés) : huile de palme, soja, papier, huile de coco, fruits, caoutchouc naturel, gomme de guar, beurre de karité, coton, mica, etc.

Fort de son expérience de collaboration avec des institutions publiques et opérateurs privés, Transitions cherche à favoriser les conditions d’un rapprochement entre ces deux familles au service de la transition écologique et sociale des territoires dans 4 secteurs : énergie et environnement, urbanisme, modèles économiques et financiers, innovation croisée.
Ainsi les missions du Pôle « Transition écologique des territoires » se développent dans deux directions complémentaires et si possible convergentes :
L’accompagnement des territoires dans la définition et la réalisation de leur stratégie de transition avec un focus sur la mobilisation des acteurs (publics et privés)
L’approfondissement des stratégies territoriales des acteurs privés, en organisant le dialogue entre parties prenantes pour élaborer et/ou optimiser ces stratégies.
Nous travaillons avec différents types d’acteurs publics – collectivités territoriales (Régions, communautés de communes et d’agglomération, PNR, etc.), services de l’Etat, organismes publics (notamment ADEME), etc. – ou privés – opérateurs énergétiques, grands groupes de services, organisations professionnelles (chambres consulaires, interprofessions, etc.).
Le Pôle « Transition écologique des territoires » formule ainsi des offres dédiées aux territoires avec un volet public et un volet privé, développe des projets en France et à l’international et produit des outils et méthodes visant à faciliter et valoriser les collaborations entre acteurs : animation de réseaux, modes de concertation innovants, instruments de visualisation des progrès réalisés sur le terrain.

Les enjeux de développement durable évoluent constamment. Pour garder un temps d’avance et proposer à nos clients et partenaires des propositions pertinentes et innovantes, nous investissons en recherche et développement en nous associant autant que possible avec des centres de recherche spécialisés ou des universités. Si nous n’avons pas la prétention de produire des connaissances fondamentalement nouvelles, nous pouvons, à partir des pratiques de terrain que nous observons, faire évoluer les regards sur les enjeux et sur les pistes de solution les plus adaptés pour y répondre. Nos investigations relèvent plutôt de la « recherche action » au sens où notre activité de recherche est directement connectée aux terrains sur lesquels nous travaillons et vise à tester « in situ » des concepts, des méthodes et des pratiques. Cette recherche-action nous permet d’enrichir les recommandations formulées à nos clients, et de proposer de nouvelles approches pour accélérer les transitions écologiques et solidaires.