Home Identity and team Divisions Projects news contact

Projet Co-development of a sustainable fruit and vegetables supply
Actor: Private / Localisation: Europe, France / Transition: Responsible production and consumption
Since 2016

Since 2016, Transitions supports E. Leclerc, French leader in wholesale distribution, in the implementation of its goal to reduce the use of pesticides in fruit and vegetables by 50% before 2020.

Context

Over the last few years, the use of pesticides has caused significant social concern in France. Studies are growing in number and they are unanimous: pesticides have a noteworthy impact on the environment, especially on the decline of pollinators, but also on farmers’ and consumers’ health. Certain substances are found as residue in food products resulting in public health issues.

 

Demand

In this respect, Michel Edouard Leclerc recently announced the brand’s goal to reduce the use of pesticides in fresh and processed fruit and vegetables by 50% before 2020. In order to achieve this ambitious goal, E. Leclerc has called on Transitions to support them in the analysis and the progress of their strategy in supplying fresh and processed fruit and vegetables.

 

Response given

Transitions supports E. Leclerc in its commitment to reduce the use of pesticides which entails, above all, implementing good farming practices, thereby reducing pesticides input as much as possible. “We have offered E. Leclerc a co-development solutions approach together with their various internal and external stakeholders, which they have accepted. We do not believe in the efficiency and suitability of strategies that are imposed and far from the concerns and the reality of the field. This is why we are looking for different players in their field all over France in order to create a shared strategy”, says Emmanuelle Brisse, project director.

Our services include diverse measures such as:

  • Carrying out baseline studies, specifically on fruit and vegetables supply or purchasing practices;
  • Consulting internal stakeholders: sustainable development and quality commission, F&V buyers, quality managers, group purchasing organisations, shop owners, fruit and vegetable experts, etc.;
  • Consulting external stakeholders: F&V buyers, researchers, NGOs, chambers of agriculture, cooperatives, sectors, etc.;
  • Carrying out a benchmark, particularly for commitments and action plans deployed by other distributors to reduce pesticide use or for suppliers implementing pesticide reduction initiatives;

Carrying out studies and bibliographic research, especially on the assessment of different agricultural production certification labels or research on varieties of low-input fruit and vegetables.

Accueil Identité & équipe Pôles Projets actualités contact

Projet Co-construction d’une offre durable fruits et légumes
Acteur: Privé / Localisation: Europe, France / Transition: Production et consommation durable
Janvier 2018

Depuis 2016, Transitions accompagne le leader français de la grande distribution, E.Leclerc dans la mise en œuvre de son objectif de réduction de 50% pesticides dans les fruits et les légumes d’ici 2020.

Contexte

Depuis quelques années, l’utilisation de pesticides génère une inquiétude sociétale de plus en plus importante en France. Les études se multiplient et sont unanimes : les pesticides ont un impact non négligeable  sur l’environnement, et notamment sur le déclin des pollinisateurs, mais également sur la santé des agriculteurs et des consommateurs. Certaines substances se retrouvent en effet à l’état de résidus dans les produits alimentaires générant un problème de santé publique.

Demande

Dans ce contexte, Michel Edouard Leclerc a récemment annoncé l’objectif de l’enseigne de réduire de 50% les pesticides dans les fruits et légumes frais et transformés d’ici 2020. Afin d’atteindre cet objectif très ambitieux, E.Leclerc a fait appel à Transitions pour l’accompagner dans l’analyse et l’évolution de sa stratégie d’approvisionnement en fruits et légumes frais et transformés.

Réponse apportée

Transitions accompagne E.Leclerc dans son engagement de réduction des pesticides ce qui implique de travailler avant tout sur la mise en place de “bonnes pratiques agricoles“ permettant de réduire au maximum les intrants dont les pesticides. «  Nous avons proposé à E.Leclerc une démarche de co-construction de solutions avec leurs différentes parties prenantes internes et externes qu’ils ont accepté. Nous ne croyons pas à l’efficacité et la pertinence de stratégies imposées et éloignées des préoccupations et des réalités du terrain. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous allons à la rencontre des différents acteurs sur leurs terrains aux quatre coin de la France, pour produire une stratégie partagée » explique Emmanuelle Brisse, directrice de projet.

Notre prestation englobe des actions diverses et variées, telles que :

  • La réalisation d’états des lieux, notamment sur les approvisionnements en fruits et légumes ou les pratiques d’achats ;
  • La consultation de parties prenantes internes : commission qualité et développement durable, acheteurs F&L, responsables qualité, centrales d’achats, propriétaires de magasin, experts fruits et légumes, etc. ;
  • La consultation de parties prenantes externes : acheteurs F&L, chercheurs, ONG, chambres d’agricultures, coopératives, filières…
  • La réalisation de benchmark, notamment sur les engagements et plans d’actions déployées par d’autres distributeurs pour diminuer les pesticides ou sur les démarches de réduction des pesticides des fournisseurs ;
  • La réalisation d’études et de recherches bibliographiques, notamment sur l’évaluation des différents labels de production agricole ou la recherche de variétés de fruits et légumes économes en intrants ;